Autumnal pear chutney

A carrier bag of pears arrived in my kitchen recently, donated by my lovely friend Rosie who is lucky enough to have a treeful in her back garden.

She warned me they were a bit on the hard side, so a batch of chutney was the order of the day. I’m really stockpiling a huge back catalogue of preserves at the moment – perfect for Christmas gifts and thank you presents, not to mention being scoffed by our good selves in the winter months.

I set about finding a recipe and came across a great one on the Good Food Channel’s website. I’m doing a spot of recipe editing for them at the moment so am keen to have a sniff about their offerings!

I adjusted it a bit as I didn’t have any apples, but just made it up with more lovely pears. I’ve not tasted it yet, as it needs to sit for a few months to age a bit, but the heady spicy smell as it simmered on the hob was intoxicating and did a lot to clear my head cold.

Chutney is so much more straightforward than jam – chuck it all in a pan and simmer for a few hours, that’s essentially it. No stresses over setting point.

Autumnal pear chutney – adapted from Good Food Channel
makes approx 6 jars

9 pears, peeled, cored and cubed
10 cherry tomatoes, halved
400g brown sugar
150g sultanas
75g dried apricots, chopped
500ml cider vinegar
250ml dry white wine
1 tbsp grain mustard
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1 tsp dried sage
1 tsp dried oregano

1. Put all your ingredients in a large pan and stir. Put over a gentle heat until the sugar has dissolved then simmer for a good couple of hours until it has thickened and is a nice dark golden colour.

2. Pour carefully into jars that have been washed in hot soapy water, rinsed and dried in a warm oven. Seal, label and store for at least 3 months before opening and enjoyed with cheese or pork products!

About Katie Bryson

Katie Bryson is a freelance food writer and blogger. She left a career in online news at the BBC to immerse herself in the culinary world, taking in courses at Leiths School of Food and Wine and an internship at Waitrose along the way. Her family food blog www.feedingboys.co.uk is bursting with recipes and tips for feeding hungry families that’ll help inspire all those frazzled parents out there wondering what on earth to cook for tea!
This entry was posted in Edible Gifts, Jam and chutneys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Autumnal pear chutney

  1. Colin Cooper says:

    I put walnuts in with mine. Gives a nice crunch. Goes really well with goat’s cheese or mexicana type cheddars.

  2. I’m SO making this today 🙂

  3. ooOOoo I know where there are a rather lot of pears, I think I may be off to pick some this afternoon and shall be ‘chutneying ‘ later today.

  4. Pingback: Apricot, pear and apple chilli chutney - ENGLISH MUM

Leave a comment