Hot chocolate spoons

Hot chocolate spoons setting in silicone cases
Hot chocolate spoons setting in silicone cases

It was my mum’s 70th birthday party at the weekend and I decided to make little table gifts for everyone.


I drew inspiration from the fabulous Holly from GBBO with her hot chocolate on a stick idea over at Recipes from a normal mum.

It’s essentially a large mass of chocolate, studded with marshmallows and set onto spoons or sticks and then melted into a large mug of steaming hot milk.

All the kit laid out to make hot chocolate spoonsIt’s been so cold I thought ultra luxe comforting drinks would be universally appealing.

So how do you make them…

For a really special look, I used pretty teaspoons in Kings Design courtesy of the fantastic Cutlery and Catering. By some stroke of luck, it turned out the cutlery at Soulton Hall where the party took place, was exactly the same – spoooooky!

If you’re on a tighter budget you could use some wooden stirrers from a coffee shop.

chocolate in microwave saucepanYou need a stack of silicone fairy cake cases and lots and lots of chocolate. I opted for a decent cooking chocolate with a 70% cocoa content.

I wanted to achieve a deep flavour that’d feel like a real treat. I also wanted it to cope well with being melted and set, so I didn’t buy the cheapest on the block. I bought 2.5kg, but ended up using 2.2kg to make 32.

filling silicone cases with chocolateI’m a big fan of melting chocolate in short bursts in the microwave – so my essential Lakeland microwave saucepan did a blinding job here. The pouring spout made it a dream to pour the melted chocolate into the moulds.

You need some patience once the choc is in the silicone cases. It took them at least two hours to be set enough to plunge the tips of the spoons in without them capsizing.

The best approach is to just keep squeezing the silicone cases and monitoring how firm they are getting.

As soon as the spoons are in you can press your little marshmallows onto the surface to decorate. You could add some white chocolate sprinkles too which would look lovely.

The scent of chocolate in our house was quite intoxicating – I felt like I smelt of it for days afterwards!

I left the cases of chocolate to firm up overnight, then in the morning I slipped them out of their cases and packaged them up in cellophane bags with curling ribbon and instructions.

Hot chocolate spoons on the table at mum's party

Hot chocolate spoons on the table at mum's party

Can’t believe my mum is 70 – makes us both feel old to be honest! Her party was absolutely lovely – lots of family and friends.

Matthew dressed up in his fire kit and carried mum into the party to everyone’s delight.

And then the biggest surprise of all – my mum’s partner announced they’d got engaged – gobsmacking moment but utterly gorgeous news 🙂

About Katie Bryson

Katie Bryson is a freelance food writer and blogger. She left a career in online news at the BBC to immerse herself in the culinary world, taking in courses at Leiths School of Food and Wine and an internship at Waitrose along the way. Her family food blog www.feedingboys.co.uk is bursting with recipes and tips for feeding hungry families that’ll help inspire all those frazzled parents out there wondering what on earth to cook for tea!
This entry was posted in Drinks, Edible Gifts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hot chocolate spoons

  1. Love it! I gotta try this one. You made them look so beautiful. I bet the guests loved them. How long did it take to melt in an average cup of hot milk do you think?

  2. Stephani says:

    I love this idea, they look absolutely lovely and delicious x

  3. Liz Burton says:

    Fabulous idea – I’m pinning it, hope you don’t mind!

    Glad to see you shop with the lovely Cutlery and Catering too x

  4. What a lovely story and these little gifts are something I might just make this week seeing as it’s half term and still pretty cold. Perfect after a play in the park/garden! 🙂

  5. Glenda says:

    It is so nice of you all to say such nice things about Cutlery and Catering. Glad you like us!!

  6. These look beautiful! My MIL turns 70 soon and just got happily re-married in Vegas last summer. Age is all in the mind 🙂

  7. Jan Bailey says:

    As a recipient of one of Katie’s Hot chocolate spoons I’m delighted with the gift – but am supposed to be cutting down on the calories too. Dilemma… how soon do I give in and treat myself?!! and yes, it was a lovely party, with all ages present, and plenty of smiling faces at the BIG news!
    Thanks, Katie.

    • Katie Bryson says:

      oops! sorry Jan! You could mix it in a larger jug of skimmed milk and share it between two of you?! Or you could just throw caution to the wind, have it all to yourself on a Monday night after the walk and zumba – surely you’ll have earnt it?!

  8. Rosemary Hamilton says:

    Thankyou Katie for adding such a fabulous touch to my party, I gather someone thought they had been bought!!I haven’t had mine yet as it is so lovely to look at!

  9. Rosemary Hamilton says:

    Comment as above but this should have my pic! thanks for the advice!!

  10. These look so very pretty – lucky guests and Happy Birthday to your Mum 🙂

Leave a comment