Banana and apple loaf

I heart banana bread. I love the warm sweet smells that waft around the house when it’s baking in the kitchen. I’ve always used the same recipe from Tessa Kiros’ Apples For Jam, but on recommendation from my pal Tara, I’m trying out a different version.

Tana Ramsay’s take on the loaf sees the addition of grated apple. She has light Muscovado sugar in her recipe, but I’ve put a mix of light and dark in mine, coz I love the toffee flavour.

This is such a great cake for using up bananas and apples that are on the turn. It’s also a mega quick recipe to knock up.

Banana and apple loaf (Tana Ramsay)
Prep time 15 mins Cooking time 45 mins

150g light Muscovado sugar (I used 50g light 100g dark)
85g unsalted butter, softened
2 large free-range eggs, beaten
4 medium-sized ripe bananas, mashed
1 apple, grated
250g self-raising flour
1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (I didn’t have fresh)
1/4 tsp cinanamon
pinch of salt

1. Preheat oven to 180’C. Grease and line a 900g/2lb loaf tin.
2. Cream together the sugar, butter and eggs
3. Stir in the mashed bananas and apple and sieve in the flour, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt.
4. Once well mixed, tip into the loaf tin and bake for 40-45 mins.
5. Remove to a wire wrack and cool in the tin for 20-30 mins. Remove from the tin onto the rack and finish cooling completely before slicing.

It’s much fruitier than the Tessa Kiros recipe and was more moist.

You could stick some walnuts and sultanas in too to crank up the fruitiness even more. My boys wouldn’t go for that though, so I’ve kept it simple.

I’d certainly make this again – the boys love it!

And in this season of endless picnics it’s great to take a few slices out on a daytrip.

About Katie Bryson

Katie Bryson is a freelance food writer and blogger. She left a career in online news at the BBC to immerse herself in the culinary world, taking in courses at Leiths School of Food and Wine and an internship at Waitrose along the way. Her family food blog www.feedingboys.co.uk is bursting with recipes and tips for feeding hungry families that’ll help inspire all those frazzled parents out there wondering what on earth to cook for tea!
This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Banana and apple loaf

  1. Tara says:

    Yum! Glad you liked it!

  2. Banana bread is one of my all time faves! There’s something about it that is so comforting. This looks so good. Like you, I think I would have used some dark Muscovado too, I just love the taste.

  3. Emma says:

    It’s funny because I hate bananas but I love banana bread!! Looks very yummy!

    • rhwfoodie says:

      Bananas are odd – the texture can be really minging if they’re under or over ripe. That’s why banana bread is so genius, coz you can put all your manky bananas in the mix and it tastes positively divine 🙂

  4. Rosie Lovell says:

    i’ve been doing A LOT of banana bread lately – try also using dark muscovado and also walnuts inside and pumpkin seeds on top – it’s mega! hope you’ve tried the honey comb… xxx

    • rhwfoodie says:

      Banana bread is essential in my house with my boys’ frightening appetites – walnuts inside and pumpkin seeds on top sound like a great idea. I’m with you on the dark musovado…

      Still not tried making honeycomb – MUST get round to it soon!!!!

Leave a comment