Crunchy chicken bites

Crunchy chicken bites

Crunchy chicken bites

As a general rule, the more time and effort I spend on cooking child-friendly food, the less likely my boys are to eat it. It’s pretty depressing at times, but I know a lot of my friends feel the same way.

But the exception to this rule is home-made chicken goujons. They’re messy to make, and not something you want to be faffing about with at 5pm on a weeknight, but if you have time to make them in advance they’re well worth the effort.

I’m a bit sqeamish about buying ready-made chicken nuggets so at least with home-made ones you’re safe in the knowledge that you’ve selected the meat yourself – so it’s not going to be processed muck.

Coating the chicken

Coating the chicken

I use crushed up cornflakes instead of breadcrumbs to coat the meat – it gives a very satisfyingly crunchy finish.

I’m not hugely keen on getting bits of raw chicken under my fingernails, so as it’s a supermucky process I’d definitely recommend getting some disposable gloves for the job. I just use Sainsbury’s own brand ones.

Crunchy chicken bites (feeds 4)

2 chicken breasts
flour
2 eggs, beaten
2 handfuls cornflakes, crushed
oil for frying

1. Remove skin from chicken breasts and then cut into equal fish-finger sized strips.

2. Place your flour, beaten egg and crushed cornflakes in separate shallow bowls. Dunk each chicken strip into the flour to give it an even coating, then egg then a good roll around in the crushed cornflakes.

3. Heat a couple of tablespoons of olive oil in a large frying pan and then cook the chicken strips for approx 3 minutes until golden on one side, then turn them all over until thoroughly cooked. Remove from pan and sit on a piece of kitchen paper. Serve with pesto-coated new potatoes and your kids’ fave vegetables.

Tips:

1. Make them in advance up to the end of step 2, then chill or freeze until ready to cook them.

2. I fried mine, but i’m sure they’d be just as easily cooked on a baking sheet in a hot oven for 15 minutes. Let me know if you try this method!

About Katie Bryson

Katie Bryson is a freelance food writer and blogger. She left a career in online news at the BBC to immerse herself in the culinary world, taking in courses at Leiths School of Food and Wine and an internship at Waitrose along the way. Her family food blog www.feedingboys.co.uk is bursting with recipes and tips for feeding hungry families that’ll help inspire all those frazzled parents out there wondering what on earth to cook for tea! She lives in West London with her two young boys and yes, her firefighter husband.
This entry was posted in Chicken recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Crunchy chicken bites

  1. Sounds good. Definitely one to try.

  2. Yum! I think these will be making an appearance at ours soon. I’m also dubious about buying ready made chicken nuggets, no idea what the quality of the chicken is like and, let’s be honest, they tend to taste of nothing at best!

  3. Karien says:

    What a nice idea. Would like them myself as well. Like you, I find that everytime I make something for them that requires some effort they will refuse to eat it. And the next day they will gorge on something very adult. Kids, they will never cease to amaze me…

  4. Lovely! it also works well on Salmon fillets – maybe I should make some and blog it?

    Happy New Year lovely!

  5. Ann says:

    Mmm, I’ve made them for the kids before too. I sometimes add a sprinkle of cajun seasoning to the breadcrumbs/cornflakes to give it a kick. I usually think I’ve made loads of them, but they are quickly eaten up.

Leave a Reply

