Grilled pepper and sausage pasta

I’m writing this entry through the fog of extreme fatigue. The boys wouldn’t go to bed last night and then Arlo screamed non-stop from about 4.30am – delightful. I feel rough as a badger’s behind.

Anyway, enough of my whinging. On a more positive note, last night’s dinner worked well. You know you’re in with a chance of pleasing the troops when you’re combining sausages and pasta.

This version was a little number I found on the Waitrose website: http://www.waitrose.com/recipe/Grilled_pepper_and_sausage_penne.aspx

It doesn’t involve many ingredients so there’s not much prepping to do. This was fortunate coz we’d got back later than planned from a playdate and Arlo was in ankle biting mode. I fended him off with Cheerios while I cooked – these are perfect for keeping him entertained coz you can just keep chucking a handful on the tray of his highchair.

I was worried he’d be too full of cereal to eat his dinner.  How foolish. He devoured an entire bowl of dinner no problemo. Never underestimate Arlo ‘the appetite’ Bryson!

Sam loved it too as did Matthew. Tick!

The recipe said to use 6 oak smoked sausags with Italian herbs. But I just used a pack of 8 cumberland which worked really well. I’ve also saved the oil from the grilled peppers jar. I thought it’d be nice to drizzle over my favourite lunch of the moment – mozzarella and tomato salads. Did you know you can get a ball of mozzarella in Waitrose for 90p?! It’s their Essential range.

Oh yes, if you have a minute and are feeling generous – please vote for my blog in the Dorset Cereals Little Blog Awards. I’m trying to raise my profile and this would REALLY help :-) You can find the link on the right hand side of this page.

I’m off for a caffeine fix…

About Katie Bryson

Katie Bryson is a freelance food writer and blogger. She left a career in online news at the BBC to immerse herself in the culinary world, taking in courses at Leiths School of Food and Wine and an internship at Waitrose along the way. Her family food blog www.feedingboys.co.uk is bursting with recipes and tips for feeding hungry families that’ll help inspire all those frazzled parents out there wondering what on earth to cook for tea! She lives in West London with her two young boys and yes, her firefighter husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

